2019 Mudgee Wine Show results announced

The 48thMudgee Wine Show results have been released at the annual wine show dinner on Friday night which heralded in the 40thanniversary celebrations of the Mudgee Wine Festival  

Wine consultant Mike DeGaris chaired the Show with fellow judges Jenna Athey, Jeff Byrne, Will Figueira and Paul Martung.  

Riesling continues to excel in Mudgee, with DeGaris commenting on the strong showing, with the top wines being ‘very classy’ and receiving the highest average scores of all the varieties. 

When the Champion Wine, along with Most Outstanding White Wine and Best Museum White Wine, are unique Rieslings, it is indicative of the strength of the variety in the region.

The red classes also received commendation, particularly from the good 2018 vintage.

Mudgee’s diversity was clearly evident with further praise for Semillon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Tempranillo and Rosés. 

The 2019 Mudgee Wine Show Trophy winners comprise:

Champion Wine

Sponsored by Cudgegong Rural Supplies

2019 Robert Stein ‘Half Dry’ Riesling

Most Successful Exhibitor

Sponsored by CCL Labels
Robert Stein Winery 

Winemaker of the Year

Sponsored by Seguin Moreau

Jacob Stein, Robert Stein Wines

Viticulturist of the Year

Sponsored by Cudgegong Rural Supplies
Chris Densley

Most Outstanding Red Wine

Sponsored by Orora Stelvin

2018 Burrundulla Shiraz

Most Outstanding White Wine 

Sponsored by Plasdene Glass Pak

2016 Robert Stein Riesling

Most Outstanding Sweet Wine

Sponsored by Global Packaging

2019 Robert Stein ‘Half Dry’ Riesling

Most Outstanding Fortified Wine 

Sponsored by PB Ag

2017 Huntington Estate Vintage Fortified Shiraz

The Gil Wahlquist Perpetual Trophy for the Best
Organic/Biodynamic/Preservative Free Wine

Sponsored by Cospak

2017 Lowe ‘Block 5’ Shiraz

The Dave Robertson Memorial Trophy for the Best Cabernet Sauvignon

Sponsored by The Winning Post Motor Inn

2017 Vinifera Cabernet Sauvignon

The Robert Stein Memorial Trophy For Best Shiraz

Sponsored by Robert Stein Wines

2018 Burrundulla Shiraz

The Carlo Corino Trophy for the Best Red Wine (not Shiraz or Cabernet)

Sponsored by RSN Spieglau

2018 Skimstone Merlot

Bob Oatley Trophy for the Best Chardonnay

Sponsored by Robert Oatley Vineyards

2018 Craigmoor ‘Artist Series’ Chardonnay

Best Semillon

Sponsored by Petersons of Mudgee

2017 Robert Stein ‘Aged Release’ Semillon

Best White Wine (not Chardonnay or Semillon)

Sponsored by Multi-Color

2016 Robert Stein Riesling

Best Museum White Wine

 Sponsored by Bunnamagoo Estate Wines

2009 Robert Stein Riesling

Best Museum Red Wine

Sponsored by Robert Oatley Vineyards

2011 Huntington Estate ‘Basket Dried’ Shiraz

Best Rosé 

Sponsored by Hahn Corporation

2019 Burrundulla Rosé

Best Mudgee Classic Blend 

Sponsored by Define Wine Marketing & Communications

2018 Skimstone Cabernet Sauvignon Shiraz

The Wine Show Dinner was one of the signature events of the annual Mudgee Wine Festival which began on the 7thSeptember and continues to the 7thOctober. 

The full list of events, including ‘Go Tasting’, ‘Go Grazing’ and ‘Flavours of Mudgee’ can be found at https://imags.com.au/published/mudgee_wine_festival/38/

The full list of awards will be posted at www.mudgeewine.com.au